The Greatest Part I Played

 

With sharpened minds

& sharper wit

We flick from act

To scene

Behind these masks

We hold on to

We tickle hearts

& dreams

       _

I’ve kissed the hand

Of tragedy

Whilst scheming

Duncan’s end

I’ve sworn my oath

In Danforths court

As Blanche Dubois

Descends

       _

I’ve drunken wine

Beyond excess

And fuelled

A Martha’s rage

I’ve stood upon

These creaking boards

As life has

Mirrored stage

         _

In candle light

& smoky halls

I’ve lived out

All your dreams

Upon a couch

I thrived about

To satisfy

Our means

        _

I’ve trod on you

To reach the top

And purged my youth

For gold

I’ve swallowed lust

As parts came by

But these should not

Be told

       _

As moonlight catches

Glitter balls

And floors are

Polished clean

Dressing rooms are

Filled with blooms

Awaiting

Silver screens

          _

But now I work

In dingy bars

And walk down

Ravaged streets

The boards I trod

Have played their part

My act is now

Complete!

4 Responses to “The Greatest Part I Played”

  1. opoetoo Says:

    As moonlight catches

    Glitter balls

    And floors are

    Polished clean

    Dressing rooms are

    Filled with blooms

    Awaiting

    Silver screens

    i like those lines the best.

    this is good stuff

  2. Always a pleasure to read Pete 🙂

  3. What lengths some people will go to too seek their fortunes eh? Great long rhyme here.

Leave a Reply

