Reflection

In youth I’ve glimpsed

But with age comes constraint

Days disappear as I stay in time.

Yesterday I played

Outside with my friends

Today they are gone,

Dead, alone….

__

A black mist swirls

And tempts my anger.

A bloody heart squeezed

Tight in my fist.

An unquenchable thirst

A desire to lust

To be free to enjoy

To taste the delights…..

__

But then I play,

Its yesterday,

Outside in the yard

With my friends……

9 Responses to “Reflection”

  1. interesting poem…the journey from light to dark and back once again….that temptation is there each day to rob us of that play.

  2. and sometimes that temptation is too strong…

  3. awesome poem…
    loved it…

    im here from Jingle’s rally
    you can check my poem at
    http://megzone.wordpress.com/2010/04/21/thursday-poets-rally-muddled-mind/

  4. Enjoying your work. Especially like how you alter cadence and the element of time in this piece. Thanks

  5. moondustwriter Says:

    I loved the going back to yesterday – there is always a glimmer of hope.
    Nice Pete

  6. very nostalgic and very beautiful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

