Twenty Words

Twenty words

That moved my heart

That swept you up

Within my arms.

Twenty words

That softened me

That held you tight

And free from harm.

Twenty words

That heaven sent

That caught my breath

In shadowed light.

Twenty words

That said so much

As I tucked you in

And said goodnight………

And those Twenty Words ………

“you won’t see me tomorrow, because tomorrow I’m going to be 6, and then I will be a different girl”

8 Responses to “Twenty Words”

  1. ohhhhhhhh That was so sweet. The innocent words of children are so precious. So obviously written from a full heart.

  2. this is angelic. just loved it. your daughter is blessed to have you. 🙂

  3. this poem made me smile 🙂

  4. moondustwriter Says:

    I’m sorry I missed this for your little girl’s B-Day but it also is appropriate for Mothers Day

  5. http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/the-celebrate-poet-of-april-award-announcement-for-nomination/

    Please feel free to nominate fellow poets for April Celebrate Poetry award.
    Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

